Skip to content
Dog Tech

GPS Dog Trackers UK 2026

Five trackers on sale in the UK compared on what they really cost once the subscription is added, plus weight, battery and coverage.

📅 Last reviewed: October 2026Our review process →
AdThis page contains affiliate links. If you buy or take out a policy through a link, Pawwala earns a commission at no extra cost to you. Rankings and verdicts are our own. Full disclosure · How we rank →
📍

Quick answer

  • ✓Device prices run from £39.99 (Weenect XS) to £149 (PitPat), but the subscription usually costs more than the device.
  • ✓Over two years, Tractive DOG 6 and FitBark GPS both come to about £167; PitPat is £149 with no required plan.
  • ✓The lightest is the FitBark GPS at 16 g, useful for small dogs.
  • ✓All of them need mobile coverage to report a location.

GPS dog trackers compared

Prices are the device price on each maker's UK store. The two-year cost adds the cheapest published two-year plan, and is shown only where the maker publishes UK plan prices.

  • Tractive DOG 6
    Tractive's current model (replaces DOG 4)
    Best for: Wide coverage claims and prepaid plans
    £59checked 21 Oct 2026
    Subscription
    Prepaid: Basic £84 a year or £108 for 2 years; Premium £96 a year, £120 for 2 years, £240 for 5 years
    Cost over 2 years
    £167 (device + 2-year Basic)
    Weight
    39 g
    Battery (maker's claim)
    Up to 6 days; up to 2 weeks with Power Saving Zones
    Coverage
    2G or LTE-M through '500+ partners' in 175+ countries; UK networks not named
  • FitBark GPS
    2nd generation; on sale in the UK since January 2026
    Best for: The lightest tracker here
    £59.95 (£34.95 on sale)checked 21 Oct 2026
    Subscription
    Required: £45 for 6 months to £198 for 5 years (£3.30 a month)
    Cost over 2 years
    £167.95 at full price (device + 2-year plan £108)
    Weight
    16 g
    Battery (maker's claim)
    10 days on mobile; up to 4 weeks with Wi-Fi; 6 hours in live tracking
    Coverage
    LTE-M, multi-network; Vodafone, EE and O2 shown
  • PitPat GPS
    UK company; activity monitor and GPS
    Best for: No subscription needed to track
    £149checked 21 Oct 2026
    Subscription
    None needed to find your dog; optional paid membership (price not published)
    Cost over 2 years
    £149
    Weight
    30 g
    Battery (maker's claim)
    'At least several days', and sometimes several weeks with good coverage
    Coverage
    Needs mobile coverage at the tracker and your phone
  • Pawfit 3
    Waterproof to 3 m
    Best for: A lower device price
    £54.99checked 21 Oct 2026
    Subscription
    Subscription required; UK prices not published on Pawfit's store
    Cost over 2 years
    Not calculable
    Weight
    Not published
    Battery (maker's claim)
    Not stated
    Coverage
    4G multi-network
  • Weenect XT / XS
    XS for small dogs
    Best for: The lowest device price here
    XT £44.99; XS £39.99checked 21 Oct 2026
    Subscription
    Monthly, 1-, 2- and 5-year plans; UK prices not shown on the subscription page
    Cost over 2 years
    Not calculable
    Weight
    Not published
    Battery (maker's claim)
    Not stated
    Coverage
    Multi-network SIM, 170+ countries

Prices, plans and specifications from each maker's UK website, checked on 21 October 2026. Battery figures are the makers' own claims. Tractive says prices may vary by location.

What to check before you buy

The subscription, not just the device

Tractive and FitBark both cost about £167 over two years once the plan is included, and their cheapest monthly rates come from paying for several years up front. Tractive shows a monthly Basic plan at £13.50 only “in selected countries”, and we could not confirm it is offered in the UK. PitPat is the exception: you can locate your dog without a subscription. Pawfit and Weenect require a plan but did not show UK plan prices on their stores when we checked, so ask before you buy.

Coverage where you walk

These trackers report their position over a mobile network, so they need signal where your dog is. FitBark shows Vodafone, EE and O2; Tractive says it uses partners in 175+ countries but does not name UK networks. If your walks have poor signal, a tracker may only update when your dog comes back into coverage.

Weight and battery

For small dogs, weight matters: FitBark GPS is 16 g, PitPat 30 g and Tractive DOG 6 39 g. Battery figures are the makers' own and fall sharply in live-tracking mode, which is when you need it most: FitBark quotes six hours of live tracking against ten days of normal use.

Earlier models and products we removed

Tractive's DOG 4 has been replaced by the DOG 6. An earlier version of this page listed a Vodafone “V-SOS Band (Dog Edition)” and a “Pod 4”; we found no evidence either is sold in the UK and have removed them. The Fi Series 3+ launched in the UK in March 2026, but we could not confirm its UK device price, so it is not in the table.

What we did, and what we did not do

We did: compared device prices, subscription plans, weights, battery claims and coverage statements on each maker's UK website, and worked out two-year costs from those published prices.

We did not: test the trackers ourselves or measure accuracy, battery life or coverage. Pawfit and Weenect did not publish UK plan prices on their stores, and Pawfit and Weenect weights and battery life were not published.

Prices and terms checked on 21 October 2026. They change; confirm on the retailer's page before you buy.

Trackers are one part of keeping a dog safe; read our summer safety guide and our dog health hub. For other dog tech, see the dog tech hub.

❓ Frequently Asked Questions

Do GPS dog trackers need a subscription?

Most do, because the tracker uses a mobile network to send its location. Tractive, FitBark, Pawfit and Weenect all require a plan. PitPat says no subscription is needed to find your dog, with an optional paid membership.

What does a GPS dog tracker cost over two years?

Using published prices on 21 October 2026: Tractive DOG 6 costs £167 (£59 plus a 2-year Basic plan at £108), FitBark GPS £167.95 at full price (£59.95 plus a 2-year plan at £108), and PitPat £149 with no required plan. Pawfit and Weenect do not publish UK plan prices on their stores.

Will a GPS tracker work in rural parts of the UK?

Only where the tracker can reach a mobile network. All of these use mobile data to report location, so coverage gaps on your usual walks matter more than the brand. Check the maker's coverage information for the areas you walk.

Is an Apple AirTag a GPS tracker?

No. An AirTag has no GPS or mobile connection; it is found when it is near someone else's Apple device. It can help in towns, but it is not designed for tracking a dog in open countryside.

Which tracker is lightest for a small dog?

Of the published weights, the FitBark GPS is lightest at 16 g, followed by PitPat at 30 g and Tractive DOG 6 at 39 g. Weenect sells a smaller XS model for small dogs.

🐾
🐾
🐾
🐾
🐾
🐾
🐾
🐾
🐾
🐾
🐾
🐾
UK pet guides

Questions about a guide? Write to us

Pawwala does not run an automatic mailing list yet. Email hello@pawwala.com and we will reply with the guide you asked about.

Dog and cat insurance explainers
Food, supplement and accessory guides
Corrections if a price or policy detail is out of date
No purchased list and no automatic downloads

Email the Pawwala desk

This opens your email app. We do not store the address on this page.