Skip to content
Pawwala

Microchip cat flaps UK: 6 compared on price, chips read and glass fitting

Prices checked 21 October 2026How we compared · 14 sourcesAdWe earn from links marked Ad. It never changes the order. How we make money

Our picks from the 6 microchip cat flaps we compared

Lowest price
SureFlap Microchip Cat Flap£69.99

Reads 9, 10 and 15-digit chips, stores 32 cats and runs up to 12 months on 4 AA batteries.

See price at zooplusAd£69.99, checked 21 Oct 2026
Lowest price with a curfew timer
Cat Mate Elite Microchip Cat Flap£79.99

Curfew timer, four-way lock and an LCD that shows who is in. Reads 15-digit chips; stores 9 cats.

See price at Closer Pets£79.99, checked 21 Oct 2026
Stores the most cats (40)
PetSafe Microchip Cat Flap40 cats

£70.09. Reads FDX-B 15-digit chips only, so check your cat's chip number first.

See price at zooplusAd£70.09, checked 21 Oct 2026
In the UK a microchip cat flap costs £69.99 to £120 (£204.99 for the app version with its Hub). Fitting one in glass needs a mounting adaptor and a round hole cut by a glazier.

Microchip cat flaps compared

Prices are from zooplus UK, the Sure Petcare UK shop and Closer Pets (Cat Mate's maker). Opening, battery and glass details are the makers' own figures.

Sort:

Showing 6 of 6.

  • SureFlap Microchip Cat Flap
    Entry by microchip; any cat can go out
    Best for: The lowest price here for a flap that reads 9, 10 and 15-digit chips
    £69.99checked 21 Oct 2026
    Opening (W × H)
    142 × 120 mm
    Cats stored
    Up to 32
    Batteries (maker's claim)
    4 × AA (not included); up to 12 months
    Locking and timer
    Manual lock; in-only; no timer
    Glass fitting
    Yes, with the Cat Flap Mounting Adaptor (£13.50) in a 212–260 mm round hole
    App
    No
  • PetSafe Microchip Cat Flap
    Four-way manual lock
    Best for: Stores the most cats here (40)
    £70.09checked 21 Oct 2026
    Opening (W × H)
    150 × 121 mm
    Cats stored
    Up to 40
    Batteries (maker's claim)
    4 × AA (not included); battery life not stated
    Locking and timer
    Four-way manual: open, in only, out only, locked
    Glass fitting
    Yes, single or double glazing with an adaptor sold separately; 212 mm round hole
    App
    No
  • Cat Mate Elite Microchip Cat Flap with Timer Control (355W)
    Timer and LCD display
    Best for: The only flap here under £100 with a curfew timer
    £79.99checked 21 Oct 2026
    Opening (W × H)
    145 × 145 mm
    Cats stored
    Up to 9
    Batteries (maker's claim)
    4 × AA (not included); about 12 months
    Locking and timer
    Four-way lock plus timer (curfew)
    Glass fitting
    Yes: the maker lists single and multiple glazing; fits doors up to 100 mm thick
    App
    No
  • SureFlap DualScan Microchip Cat Flap
    Reads chips going in and going out
    Best for: The only flap here that controls who goes out, cat by cat
    £109.99checked 21 Oct 2026
    Opening (W × H)
    142 × 120 mm
    Cats stored
    Up to 32
    Batteries (maker's claim)
    4 × AA (not included); up to 12 months
    Locking and timer
    Exit permission set per cat; in-only; no timer
    Glass fitting
    Yes, with the Cat Flap Mounting Adaptor (£13.50) in a 212–260 mm round hole
    App
    No
  • SureFlap Microchip Pet Door
    Larger opening; for large cats and small dogs
    Best for: The largest opening here (178 × 170 mm)
    £120.00checked 21 Oct 2026
    Opening (W × H)
    178 × 170 mm
    Cats stored
    Up to 32
    Batteries (maker's claim)
    4 × C (not included); up to 12 months
    Locking and timer
    Manual lock; in-only; curfew mode (timed locking)
    Glass fitting
    Yes, with the Pet Door Mounting Adaptor (£24) in a 294–320 mm round hole
    App
    No
  • SureFlap Microchip Cat Flap Connect
    App-controlled; needs the Sure Petcare Hub
    Best for: The only flap here with app alerts and remote locking
    £204.99 with Hubchecked 21 Oct 2026
    Opening (W × H)
    142 × 120 mm
    Cats stored
    Not stated on the product page
    Batteries (maker's claim)
    4 × AA (not included); up to 6 months
    Locking and timer
    Curfew and remote lock or unlock in the app
    Glass fitting
    Yes, with the Cat Flap Mounting Adaptor (£13.50) in a 212–260 mm round hole
    App
    Yes: needs the Hub (£85 at Sure Petcare). No subscription mentioned

Prices and specifications from the retailer and maker pages linked, checked on 21 October 2026.

How we compared · 14 sources, checked 21 October 2026Show

What we did

compared the six microchip cat flaps with a current UK price on 21 October 2026, using the makers' UK pages and zooplus UK for price, opening size, chips read, battery life, number of cats stored and glass fitting. Picks are labelled by one measurable fact (price, timer, capacity, size).

What we did not do

fit or use these flaps, or measure how reliably they read a chip. Reliability can depend on where your cat's chip sits and the door material, which only the maker's compatibility check or a trial fitting can tell you.

Prices and terms change. Confirm on the retailer's page before you buy.

Each cat flap in detail

Lowest price

SureFlap Microchip Cat Flap

Entry by microchip; any cat can go out

Opening
142 × 120 mm
Cats stored
Up to 32
Batteries
4 × AA (not included); up to 12 months
Glass
Yes, with the Cat Flap Mounting Adaptor (£13.50) in a 212–260 mm round hole

Why it made the list

The lowest price here for a flap that reads 9, 10 and 15-digit chips. What the maker says: Works with "all common identification microchips" (zooplus lists 9, 10 and 15-digit chips) or a SureFlap RFID collar tag (2 for £10.50), and "prevents intruder animals entering your home".

Watch out for

No curfew timer. Glass, brick and some metal doors need the separate mounting adaptor or tunnel extenders (£9 each).

See price at zooplusAd£69.99, checked 21 Oct 2026. Sure Petcare UK: £70.00
Stores the most cats (40)

PetSafe Microchip Cat Flap

Four-way manual lock

Opening
150 × 121 mm
Cats stored
Up to 40
Batteries
4 × AA (not included); battery life not stated
Glass
Yes, single or double glazing with an adaptor sold separately; 212 mm round hole

Why it made the list

Stores the most cats here (40). What the maker says: Reads European FDX-B 15-digit microchips or a PetSafe RFID collar tag, suits cats up to 8 kg with shoulders no wider than 15 cm, and "prevents strange cats or other animals from entering your home uninvited".

Watch out for

Reads 15-digit FDX-B chips only, so check your cat's chip number before you buy.

See price at zooplusAd£70.09, checked 21 Oct 2026
Lowest price with a curfew timer

Cat Mate Elite Microchip Cat Flap with Timer Control (355W)

Timer and LCD display

Opening
145 × 145 mm
Cats stored
Up to 9
Batteries
4 × AA (not included); about 12 months
Glass
Yes: the maker lists single and multiple glazing; fits doors up to 100 mm thick

Why it made the list

The only flap here under £100 with a curfew timer. What the maker says: Reads "your cat's unique 15-digit microchip or Cat Mate I.D. Disc", lets all cats exit freely, and has a timer for a night-time curfew and an LCD showing whether each cat is in or out.

Watch out for

Reads 15-digit chips (or the Cat Mate I.D. Disc, sold separately). Stores 9 cats, fewer than the others.

See price at Closer Pets£79.99, checked 21 Oct 2026. zooplus UK: £80.99

SureFlap DualScan Microchip Cat Flap

Reads chips going in and going out

Opening
142 × 120 mm
Cats stored
Up to 32
Batteries
4 × AA (not included); up to 12 months
Glass
Yes, with the Cat Flap Mounting Adaptor (£13.50) in a 212–260 mm round hole

Why it made the list

The only flap here that controls who goes out, cat by cat. What the maker says: Lets you choose which registered cats may go out, so an indoor cat can stay in while others come and go, and has a safety mode so an indoor cat that escapes can get back in.

Watch out for

Out of stock on the Sure Petcare shop when we checked; zooplus listed it.

See price at zooplusAd£109.99, checked 21 Oct 2026. Sure Petcare UK: From £109.99 (out of stock on 21 Oct 2026)
Largest opening

SureFlap Microchip Pet Door

Larger opening; for large cats and small dogs

Opening
178 × 170 mm
Cats stored
Up to 32
Batteries
4 × C (not included); up to 12 months
Glass
Yes, with the Pet Door Mounting Adaptor (£24) in a 294–320 mm round hole

Why it made the list

The largest opening here (178 × 170 mm). What the maker says: "Designed for large cats and small dogs", with a curfew mode that locks and unlocks at set times.

Watch out for

Needs a bigger hole (300 mm is the optimum for glass) and C-cell batteries.

See price at Sure Petcare£120.00, checked 21 Oct 2026

SureFlap Microchip Cat Flap Connect

App-controlled; needs the Sure Petcare Hub

Opening
142 × 120 mm
Cats stored
Not stated on the product page
Batteries
4 × AA (not included); up to 6 months
Glass
Yes, with the Cat Flap Mounting Adaptor (£13.50) in a 212–260 mm round hole

Why it made the list

The only flap here with app alerts and remote locking. What the maker says: Lock or unlock from your phone, get a notification when a cat enters or leaves, see who is home and share access with others. The Hub is "the link between your Connect products and the Sure Petcare app".

Watch out for

The flap alone was out of stock at Sure Petcare; without the Hub it cannot connect to the app. Battery life is half that of the standard flap.

See price at zooplusAd£204.99 with Hub, checked 21 Oct 2026. Sure Petcare UK: £140 flap + £85 Hub (£205 as a set)

Is a microchip cat flap worth it?

A microchip cat flap is worth it if neighbouring cats come in, or if you do not want your cat to wear a collar. International Cat Caresays that until recently the only way to make a flap selective was a magnetic or electronic key on the collar, and that flaps “activated by your cat’s microchip” now allow selective entry without one. It lists collar injuries including a front leg caught through the collar and strangulation, and advises a snap-open collar if your cat wears one.

Your cat probably has a chip already: in England cats must be microchipped and registered by 20 weeks old, with a fine of up to £500 (GOV.UK). Budget for the flap alongside the other costs in our cost of owning a cat guide and the new kitten checklist.

Do microchip cat flaps work?

The makers say they keep other animals out: Sure Petcare says its flap “prevents intruder animals entering your home”, and PetSafe that it “prevents strange cats or other animals from entering your home uninvited”. What decides whether a microchip cat flap works for your cat is the chip it can read:

  • SureFlap flaps read 9, 10 and 15-digit chips (zooplus listing).
  • PetSafe reads European FDX-B 15-digit chips.
  • Cat Mate Elite reads 15-digit chips or its own I.D. Disc.

If your cat's chip is not read, each maker sells an RFID collar tag instead. Most flaps read only on the way in, so any cat can leave; the SureFlap DualScan reads both ways and lets you keep a chosen cat indoors.

Can you fit a microchip cat flap in a glass door?

Yes, all six microchip cat flaps here can go in glass, but none fits straight into an existing pane:

What you need

  • A round hole in the glass. Sure Petcare gives 212 mm as the optimum for its cat flaps (up to 260 mm with the £13.50 Cat Flap Mounting Adaptor), and 294–320 mm for the Pet Door (£24 adaptor).
  • A glazier. zooplus says the pane usually has to be replaced with one that has a pre-cut hole, that this needs a professional glazier, and that DIY is not recommended.
  • Double glazing is possible with the SureFlap adaptor and the PetSafe adaptor; Cat Mate lists single and multiple glazing for the Elite.

We found no published glazier price to quote, so ask for a quote for the new pane with the hole before you buy the flap.

How much does a microchip cat flap cost?

On 21 October 2026, the six flaps cost £69.99 to £120, or £204.99 for the SureFlap Connect with its Hub. Add £13.50 or £24 for a glass adaptor, £9 per 50 mm tunnel extender for a thick wall, and £10.50 for two SureFlap collar tags if you need them. If you are also choosing a feeder, our automatic cat feeder comparison covers microchip feeders from the same makers.

More cat kit: cat water fountains, litter trays and the cat tech hub. If a cat comes home injured after a fight, see our cat insurance guide, and if you are worried, contact your vet.

Others we looked at

  • SureFlap Microchip Pet Door Connect: the app version of the larger door, from £155 (£213.49 with Hub at zooplus). Left out to keep one Connect model; it has the same app features as the cat flap version.
  • Manual and magnetic-key flaps: not compared here: this page covers only flaps that read a microchip. A manual four-way flap such as the Ferplast Swing 11 was £43.19 at zooplus on 21 October 2026.

Frequently asked questions

Is it worth getting a microchip cat flap?

It is worth it if you want to keep other cats out without your cat wearing a collar. International Cat Care says microchip flaps allow selective entry without a collar, and it lists collar injuries such as a leg caught through the collar. The flaps we compared cost £69.99 to £120, or £204.99 for the app version with its Hub, on 21 October 2026.

Do microchip cat flaps work both ways?

Most read the chip only on the way in: Sure Petcare says the standard Microchip Cat Flap's reader is on the outside, so any animal can exit. The SureFlap DualScan reads in both directions, so you can choose which cats may go out.

How much are microchip cat flaps?

From £69.99 (SureFlap Microchip Cat Flap at zooplus) to £120 (SureFlap Microchip Pet Door), checked 21 October 2026. The app-controlled SureFlap Connect was £204.99 with the Hub it needs. Fitting in glass adds a mounting adaptor (£13.50 or £24 at Sure Petcare) plus a glazier's charge.

Which microchip cat flap is best for a large cat?

Of the six we compared, the SureFlap Microchip Pet Door has the largest opening at 178 × 170 mm and is described as "designed for large cats and small dogs". PetSafe says its cat flap suits cats up to 8 kg with shoulders no wider than 15 cm.

Can you use a microchip cat flap without batteries?

All six flaps here run on batteries (AA, or C for the Pet Door). Sure Petcare says its flaps remember registered cats when the batteries are removed, and each has a low-battery light.

Does a microchip cat flap work with a collar tag?

Yes. Each maker sells an RFID collar tag for cats whose chip the flap cannot read or cats without a chip: SureFlap tags cost £10.50 for two at Sure Petcare, and Cat Mate uses its own I.D. Disc.

What changed in this update

  • 21 October 2026: First published: six microchip cat flaps with prices checked on this date.
Corrections and questions

Spotted a price change or a mistake?

Tell us and we will check it. Corrections are dated on the page and listed in our corrections log.