Skip to content
Pawwala

Dog harnesses UK: 5 compared on price, lead clips and fit

Prices checked 21 October 2026How we compared · 12 sourcesAdWe earn from links marked Ad. It never changes the order. How we make money

Our picks from the 5 harnesses we compared

Lowest price with a front clip
Halti Front Control Harness£15.99

Size S (36–64 cm chest) at zooplus. Front clip that can also attach to the collar.

See price at zooplusAd£15.99 (size S), checked 21 Oct 2026
Widest size range (0.8–90 kg)
Julius-K9 IDC PowerharnessFrom £20.89

Nine sizes from 0.8 to 90 kg, with a handle. Its chest strap runs straight across, not a Y-front.

See price at Julius-K9From £20.89, checked 21 Oct 2026
Front and back clips, 4 adjustment points
Ruffwear Front Range Dog Harness£49.95+

Back V-ring for everyday walks and a front clip "to redirect dogs that pull".

See price at Ruffwear£49.95–£59.95 by size, checked 21 Oct 2026
Dog harnesses here cost £15.99 to £59.95. Dogs Trust suggests a Y-shaped, fixed harness and warns that ‘no pull’ quick fixes often cause pain or discomfort.

Dog harnesses compared

Prices are from each maker's UK shop or a UK retailer. “Pulling claim” is the maker's own wording, not a result we measured.

Sort:

Showing 5 of 5.

  • Halti Front Control Harness
    Front-clip training harness
    Best for: The lowest price here for a harness with a front clip
    £15.99 (size S)checked 21 Oct 2026
    Lead clips
    Front clip, which can also attach to the collar; 3 O-rings
    Chest design (maker)
    Chest strap; neoprene padding
    Adjustment
    Adjustable (points not stated)
    Sizes
    S 36–64 cm, M 58–86 cm, L 80–120 cm chest
    Pulling claim (maker)
    "Designed to put a stop to pulling from the front"; zooplus: shares the tension across the chest and shoulders
  • Ancol Viva Step In Harness
    Step-in design
    Best for: No over-the-head fitting, for head-shy dogs
    £19.99 (size M, 46–54 cm)checked 21 Oct 2026
    Lead clips
    Not stated on the retailer page
    Chest design (maker)
    Step-in; no over-the-head fitting
    Adjustment
    Not stated
    Sizes
    By chest size: S/M 41–47 cm (£18.99), M 46–54 cm
    Pulling claim (maker)
    No pulling claim
  • Julius-K9 IDC Powerharness
    Sizes for dogs of 0.8–90 kg
    Best for: The widest size range here (0.8–90 kg)
    From £20.89checked 21 Oct 2026
    Lead clips
    One leash ring (position not stated by the maker); top handle
    Chest design (maker)
    Wide chest strap, angled, running parallel to the leash ring (not a Y-front)
    Adjustment
    Not stated
    Sizes
    Nine sizes, 0.8–90 kg (chest 29–138 cm)
    Pulling claim (maker)
    Says it spreads force to the chest rather than the neck; you can "hold back or stop your dog when you need to with less effort"
  • PerfectFit Harness (3-piece)
    Three separately sized pieces
    Best for: The only harness here sized piece by piece
    £35.70 (15 mm) to £43.02 (20 mm)checked 21 Oct 2026
    Lead clips
    Not stated on the pages we checked
    Chest design (maker)
    Y-shaped front
    Adjustment
    Three pieces (top, front, girth) mixed and matched by size
    Sizes
    Tiny to giant breeds; 15, 20 and 40 mm widths
    Pulling claim (maker)
    Spreads pulling force "evenly across the chest, keeping pressure off the throat and neck"
  • Ruffwear Front Range Dog Harness
    Padded everyday harness
    Best for: Front and back clips with four adjustment points
    £49.95–£59.95 by sizechecked 21 Oct 2026
    Lead clips
    Front (chest webbing) and back (aluminium V-ring)
    Chest design (maker)
    Padded; maker does not call it a Y-front
    Adjustment
    Four adjustment points
    Sizes
    XXS to L/XL, girth 33–107 cm
    Pulling claim (maker)
    Front clip "to redirect dogs that pull on leash"

Prices and descriptions from the maker and retailer pages linked, checked on 21 October 2026.

How we compared · 12 sources, checked 21 October 2026Show

What we did

compared five harnesses with a current UK price on 21 October 2026, using each maker's description of the lead clips, chest design, adjustment and sizes, and set them against Dogs Trust and RSPCA guidance on pulling, fit and training.

What we did not do

fit these harnesses on dogs or measure whether they reduce pulling. Whether a harness restricts the shoulders depends on your dog's shape, so check the fit on your own dog.

Prices and terms change. Confirm on the retailer's page before you buy.

Each harness in detail

Lowest price with a front clip

Halti Front Control Harness

Front-clip training harness

Lead clips
Front clip, which can also attach to the collar; 3 O-rings
Chest design
Chest strap; neoprene padding
Sizes
S 36–64 cm, M 58–86 cm, L 80–120 cm chest
Pulling claim
"Designed to put a stop to pulling from the front"; zooplus: shares the tension across the chest and shoulders

Why it made the list

The lowest price here for a harness with a front clip. What the maker says: "Designed to put a stop to pulling from the front, this dog control harness keeps you in the driving seat and your dog comfortable."

Watch out for

Dogs Trust warns that 'no pull' products sold as quick fixes "often cause pain or discomfort". Pair any harness with loose-lead training.

See price at zooplusAd£15.99 (size S), checked 21 Oct 2026

Ancol Viva Step In Harness

Step-in design

Lead clips
Not stated on the retailer page
Chest design
Step-in; no over-the-head fitting
Sizes
By chest size: S/M 41–47 cm (£18.99), M 46–54 cm
Pulling claim
No pulling claim

Why it made the list

No over-the-head fitting, for head-shy dogs. What the maker says: Sold as a step-in harness, so the dog steps into it rather than having it put over the head. The retailer page makes no pulling claim.

See price at BATA£19.99 (size M, 46–54 cm), checked 21 Oct 2026
Widest size range (0.8–90 kg)

Julius-K9 IDC Powerharness

Sizes for dogs of 0.8–90 kg

Lead clips
One leash ring (position not stated by the maker); top handle
Chest design
Wide chest strap, angled, running parallel to the leash ring (not a Y-front)
Sizes
Nine sizes, 0.8–90 kg (chest 29–138 cm)
Pulling claim
Says it spreads force to the chest rather than the neck; you can "hold back or stop your dog when you need to with less effort"

Why it made the list

The widest size range here (0.8–90 kg). What the maker says: "Evenly distributes the power to the dog's chest instead of the neck", with reflective stitching, a handle and interchangeable side labels. The maker says it is "recommended by dog trainers, vets, search and rescue teams".

Watch out for

Its chest strap runs straight across the front. Dogs Trust advises avoiding harnesses that cross directly in front of the shoulders, so check how it sits on your dog.

See price at Julius-K9From £20.89, checked 21 Oct 2026. zooplus UK: £20.49 (Baby 2) to £41.09 (Size 2)
Y-front, sized piece by piece

PerfectFit Harness (3-piece)

Three separately sized pieces

Lead clips
Not stated on the pages we checked
Chest design
Y-shaped front
Sizes
Tiny to giant breeds; 15, 20 and 40 mm widths
Pulling claim
Spreads pulling force "evenly across the chest, keeping pressure off the throat and neck"

Why it made the list

The only harness here sized piece by piece. What the maker says: A modular harness of three pieces sized separately for an unusual shape, with a "Y-shaped front that distributes pulling force evenly across the chest, keeping pressure off the throat and neck". The pieces clip around the neck, so there is no pulling over the head.

See price at PerfectFit£35.70 (15 mm) to £43.02 (20 mm), checked 21 Oct 2026
Front and back clips, 4 adjustment points

Ruffwear Front Range Dog Harness

Padded everyday harness

Lead clips
Front (chest webbing) and back (aluminium V-ring)
Chest design
Padded; maker does not call it a Y-front
Sizes
XXS to L/XL, girth 33–107 cm
Pulling claim
Front clip "to redirect dogs that pull on leash"

Why it made the list

Front and back clips with four adjustment points. What the maker says: Two lead points: a back V-ring for everyday walks and a reinforced front clip "to redirect dogs that pull on leash", plus an ID pocket and reflective trim. In between sizes, choose the larger.

Watch out for

The most expensive harness here.

See price at Ruffwear£49.95–£59.95 by size, checked 21 Oct 2026

What dog harness is best to stop pulling?

A dog harness reduces the strain of pulling but does not teach your dog to stop. Dogs Trustsays “equipment alone won't stop your dog from pulling on their lead” and suggests “a Y-shaped, fixed harness” that supports the dog's weight. It adds that a front and a back attachment point with a double-ended lead can give extra support. Of the five here, the Ruffwear Front Range has both clips and the PerfectFit has a Y-shaped front.

Makers' no-pull claims differ in kind. Ruffwear says its front clip helps “redirect dogs that pull”, PerfectFit that its Y-front spreads force across the chest, and Julius-K9 that its harness puts the force on the chest rather than the neck. Company of Animals says its separate Halti No Pull Harness has a “stop-pull lifting feature” that activates when the dog pulls.

Are no-pull harnesses kind?

Dogs Trust is direct about this: “Be wary of equipment offering quick fixes, like ‘no pull’ products. They often cause pain or discomfort and lead to more problems, like developing fears.” The RSPCAsays “all training should be reward based”. If you use a harness that tightens or lifts when your dog pulls, watch your dog's body language and pair it with loose-lead training. Dogs Trust also notes that changes in behaviour are often influenced by physical health, and that sudden pain can make a dog switch between pulling and stopping, so ask your vet to rule out pain.

How should a dog harness fit?

Dogs Trustgives three checks: you can fit a finger comfortably between the straps and your dog's body, the harness does not move position as your dog moves, and your dog cannot slip out of it. It advises avoiding harnesses that “cross directly in front of the shoulders”, because they prevent natural movement. Clip-on designs such as the PerfectFit, or a step-in like the Ancol Viva, can suit dogs who dislike things going over their head. Introduce any harness gradually with treats before you use it on walks.

Harness or collar?

Both. Dogs Trust says harnesses absorb much of a pulling dog's weight, so there is less risk of injury, but your dog still needs a collar with an up-to-date ID tag when out of the house, which is a legal requirement. A flat collar should leave room for two flat fingers. Our puppy first-year checklist and first-time dog owner guide cover what else to buy.

For the car, a walking harness is not a car restraint: see our dog car travel comparison. For dogs that roam, see GPS dog trackers. More kit is in the dog accessories hub, including washable dog beds. If walking seems painful for your dog, see our dog health hub and contact your vet.

Others we looked at

  • Halti No Pull Harness: the maker's page links only to Amazon, and we do not show Amazon prices. Its "stop-pull lifting feature" activates when the dog pulls.
  • Hurtta Weekend Warrior and other Y-harnesses: we could not confirm a current UK price on 21 October 2026.

Frequently asked questions

What dog harness is best to stop pulling?

No harness stops pulling on its own. Dogs Trust says equipment alone won't stop a dog pulling and warns that 'no pull' products sold as quick fixes "often cause pain or discomfort". It suggests a Y-shaped, fixed harness with front and back attachment points and a double-ended lead, used alongside reward-based loose-lead training.

What dog harness do vets recommend?

We found no UK vet body that recommends a brand. Dogs Trust, a welfare charity, suggests a Y-shaped, fixed harness that supports the dog's weight and does not cross directly in front of the shoulders. Julius-K9 says its harness is recommended by trainers and vets, but that is the maker's own claim.

How should a dog harness fit?

Dogs Trust says you should be able to fit a finger comfortably between the straps and your dog's body, the harness should not shift as your dog moves, and your dog should not be able to slip out of it. Introduce it gradually with rewards before using it on walks.

Is a harness better than a collar?

For a dog that pulls, Dogs Trust says a harness can make walking easier because it absorbs much of the dog's weight, so there is less risk of injury to you and your dog. Your dog still needs a collar with an up-to-date ID tag when out of the house: Dogs Trust notes this is a legal requirement.

How much does a dog harness cost?

The five harnesses we compared cost £15.99 (Halti Front Control, size S) to £59.95 (Ruffwear Front Range, larger sizes) on 21 October 2026.

What changed in this update

  • 21 October 2026: First published: five harnesses with prices checked on this date.
Corrections and questions

Spotted a price change or a mistake?

Tell us and we will check it. Corrections are dated on the page and listed in our corrections log.