How Much Do Kennels Cost per Night? UK 2026 Prices
What UK boarding kennels and catteries charge per night, from their own published price lists, what a week or a fortnight costs, and what the licensing rules mean for you.
How much do kennels cost per night?
One dog cost £16 to £35 a night at the five kennels we checked. Some price by size; others charge one rate for any dog up to large. A second dog sharing usually costs less.
| Business | One dog | Two sharing | Peak and holidays | Minimum |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Loudounhill Country BarkStrathaven, South Lanarkshire; valid until 4 January 2027 | Small £27.00; medium £28.75; large £31.00; giant £34.50 | Discount (amount not stated) | 15% at busy times including school holidays; 25% over Christmas | Priced per 24 hours |
| Whitehouse Kennels & CatteryLympsham, Somerset; from 1 January 2026 | £32, any size up to large | +£18 for each extra dog sharing | Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year's night surcharge (2025 list) | 2 nights at weekends |
| The FoxholesBilsthorpe, Nottinghamshire; January 2026 | £35 a day | £55 for two sharing | +£10 a day on bank holidays; double on 25 and 26 December | 2-day minimum charge |
| Elswick KennelsElswick, Lancashire; no date shown | Small £16; medium £17; large £18 a day | £1.50 off per dog per day when sharing | None listed | Arrival day charged |
| Bishop Burton College KennelsBishop Burton, East Yorkshire; no date shown | £25, any size | £44 for two sharing | None listed | None listed |
Published prices, checked 21 October 2026. For comparison, TrustedHousesitters puts the UK kennel average at £29.23 a night (TrustedHousesitters pet care cost page, no date shown; the same figures were reported in January 2025).
How much does a cattery cost?
One cat cost £14 to £25 a night at the six catteries we checked, and two cats from the same home sharing a chalet cost £21 to £35. TrustedHousesitters puts the UK average at £15.01 a night.
| Business | One cat | Two sharing | Peak and holidays | Minimum |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Highlanes CatteryHayle, Cornwall; bookings from 1 August 2026 | £16 | £26 | None listed | 3 nights |
| Catkins CatteryHartlebury, Worcestershire; 2026 | £17 a night for 2+ nights (£18 for one night) | £24 a night (£25 for one night) | None listed; food and heating included | None listed |
| Cleracres CatteryWhitchurch, Bristol; 2026 peak dates | £15.00 off-peak; £17.75 peak (plus VAT) | £23.25 off-peak; £25.25 peak (plus VAT) | Peak includes Easter, summer and Christmas; Christmas, Boxing and New Year's Day at double peak | None listed |
| Longfield CatteryTown not stated on page; Christmas 2026 dates | £14 (£18 over Christmas) | £21 (£29 over Christmas) | 20 Dec 2026 to 4 Jan 2027: 7-night minimum and £100 deposit | £28 minimum charge |
| Claremont CatteryTown not stated on page; from 1 January 2026 | £25 a day | £35 a day (same household) | +£25 a chalet for bookings over Easter or Christmas bank holidays | 3 days |
| Arlington CatteryHailsham, East Sussex; correct as of 2 June 2025 | £16 a day | £24 a day | Double on Christmas Day and Boxing Day | 3-day minimum charge |
What a week or two costs
| Stay | Per night | 7 nights | 14 nights |
|---|---|---|---|
| One dog, kennels | £16–£35 | £112–£245 | £224–£490 |
| One cat, cattery | £14–£25 | £98–£175 | £196–£350 |
A sitter in your home is the main alternative. TrustedHousesitters puts UK overnight dog sitting at £43.85 a night (TrustedHousesitters, updated 24 January 2025), more than most kennels per night, but it covers several pets and the house. See our dog walker, daycare and sitting cost guide, or plan to take your dog with you using our dog-friendly holidays guide. Boarding is one of the costs in our cost of owning a dog and cost of owning a cat guides.
Licences and star ratings
In England, the Animal Welfare (Licensing of Activities Involving Animals) (England) Regulations 2018 apply. Providing or arranging boarding for other people's cats or dogs as a business, in kennels, catteries, home boarding or day care, needs a licence from the local council. (Schedule 1). A licence can be granted for one, two or three years. (regulation 5). A copy of the licence must be clearly displayed at the premises, and the licence holder's name and licence number must appear on any website used for the business. (Schedule 2).
What the stars mean
Councils give each licensed business a star rating from 1 to 5, based on welfare standards and risk; 5 stars brings a 3-year licence, 3 or 4 stars 2 years, and 1 or 2 stars 1 year. 4 and 5 stars need the optional higher standards. (Defra guidance). Ask a kennel or cattery for its star rating and licence number before you book.
Sharing rules
Only dogs from the same household can share a kennel, with the owner's written agreement. Cats from different households must never share a unit. (Defra guidance for kennels and catteries.)
Wales and Scotland
In Wales, boarding establishments are licensed by councils under the Animal Boarding Establishments Act 1963. (1963 Act). Scotland's 2021 licensing regulations exclude activities that need a licence under the Animal Boarding Establishments Act 1963, so boarding there is licensed under that Act. (2021 Regulations).
What vaccinations do kennels and catteries need?
Dogs
Dogs, including resident dogs, must have current vaccinations against canine parvovirus, canine distemper, infectious canine hepatitis (adenovirus), leptospirosis and other relevant diseases. Vaccination against kennel cough may be required. Primary courses must be finished at least 2 weeks before boarding. (Defra kennel guidance).
Cats
Cats must have current vaccinations against feline panleukopenia (feline infectious enteritis) and the feline respiratory viruses (feline herpesvirus and feline calicivirus). (Defra cattery guidance).
A vet's titre test certificate may be accepted instead of a booster, at the boarder's discretion; homeopathic vaccination is not accepted. Book boosters well before a trip; our dog vaccination cost and cat vaccination cost guides show what they cost. If your pet is unwell before or after boarding, contact your vet.
What these prices do not include
- Christmas, Easter, school holiday and bank holiday surcharges, which several boarders add (15% to double the normal rate).
- VAT where it is not included: Cleracres prices are plus VAT.
- Extras such as special food, medication, collection or grooming.
- Vaccinations or boosters needed before your pet can board.
How we worked out these figures
- Read the published price lists of five boarding kennels and six catteries in England and Scotland on 21 October 2026.
- Recorded each price as published, including whether it is per night or per day, and the date or validity the page shows.
- Reported the lowest and highest one-animal price. These are ranges from businesses that publish prices, not a national average.
- Worked out a week as 7 × the nightly price, before any surcharge.
- Checked licensing rules on legislation.gov.uk and vaccination rules in Defra's statutory guidance (last updated 1 June 2026).
What we did not do: book or visit any boarder. Some lists show only a year or no date, and Arlington's is dated 2 June 2025. Several charge per day rather than per night, which can add a day at each end. The TrustedHousesitters averages come from a company that sells house-sitting.
All price lists checked 21 October 2026.
Sources
- Loudounhill Country Bark (Strathaven, South Lanarkshire) · valid until 4 January 2027
- Whitehouse Kennels & Cattery (Lympsham, Somerset) · from 1 January 2026
- The Foxholes (Bilsthorpe, Nottinghamshire) · January 2026
- Elswick Kennels (Elswick, Lancashire) · no date shown
- Bishop Burton College Kennels (Bishop Burton, East Yorkshire) · no date shown
- Highlanes Cattery (Hayle, Cornwall) · bookings from 1 August 2026
- Catkins Cattery (Hartlebury, Worcestershire) · 2026
- Cleracres Cattery (Whitchurch, Bristol) · 2026 peak dates
- Longfield Cattery (Town not stated on page) · Christmas 2026 dates
- Claremont Cattery (Town not stated on page) · from 1 January 2026
- Arlington Cattery (Hailsham, East Sussex) · correct as of 2 June 2025
- TrustedHousesitters: pet care costs · no date shown
- TrustedHousesitters: dog sitter prices · updated 24 January 2025
- Licensing Regulations 2018, Schedule 1
- Licensing Regulations 2018, regulation 5
- Licensing Regulations 2018, Schedule 2
- Defra: animal activity licensing process
- Defra: dog kennel boarding guidance
- Defra: cat boarding guidance
- Animal Boarding Establishments Act 1963, section 1
- Licensing Regulations (Scotland) 2021, Schedule 1
Questions
How much do kennels cost per night in the UK?
The five UK boarding kennels whose price lists we read on 21 October 2026 charged £16 to £35 a night for one dog, depending on size and area. TrustedHousesitters puts the UK average at £29.23 a night.
How much does a cattery cost in the UK?
Six catteries' published prices ran from £14 to £25 a night for one cat and £21 to £35 for two cats sharing. TrustedHousesitters puts the UK average at £15.01 a night.
How much do kennels cost for a week?
Seven nights at the kennels we checked costs £112 to £245 for one dog before any peak surcharge. A week in a cattery costs £98 to £175 for one cat.
How much do kennels cost for 2 dogs?
Kennels usually charge less for a second dog sharing the same kennel: Bishop Burton charges £44 a night for two, The Foxholes £55 a day, and Whitehouse £32 plus £18. Only dogs from the same household may share a kennel.
What vaccinations does my dog need for kennels?
Defra's licensing guidance says licensed kennels must see a current vaccination record for parvovirus, distemper, infectious canine hepatitis (adenovirus) and leptospirosis, and may require kennel cough vaccination. A first vaccination course must be finished at least two weeks before boarding. Ask your vet if your dog's boosters are due.
What vaccinations does my cat need for a cattery?
Defra's guidance says catteries must see current vaccinations against feline panleukopenia (feline infectious enteritis) and the cat flu viruses, feline herpesvirus and feline calicivirus. Ask your vet if your cat's boosters are due.
How much does a cattery cost for 2 weeks?
Fourteen nights for one cat cost £196 to £350 at the catteries we checked, before Christmas or bank holiday surcharges.